today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-08-29 - 8:47 p.m.

So, here I am enjoying the wonder that is high speed internet.

I'm in a hotel in Boca Raton. Why you ask? Because it's the safest decision to make when a tropical storm is on it's way to south Florida.

Now, many of you may be thinking to yourself, "I'm sooooooo glad that I don't live in Florida! I'd hate to have to deal with hurricanes."

However, I'd much rather have the opportunity to evacuate from a hurricane/tropical storm than to be suddenly hurled from my house in the middle of the night from a tornado---- those can strike without a moment's notice. At least with tropical storms/hurricanes, you have a few days to make a decision as to what to do.

And I don't envy people who live in earthquake zones either. There's not usually a warning before they strike. And snow/blizzards are much longer lasting weather systems than tropical storms. Besides, if you live in a house in south Florida then chances are it can easily withstand up to a category 2 storm.

What I absolutely *HATE* are the idiots in the media... you know, the ones who like to drum up trouble and who dramatize every last detail knowing that most people watching are hanging on to every last breath with anticipation. I have come to loathe The Weather Channel. Some of the meteorologists came from the "I-Didn't-Make-It-Into-The-Prestigious-Acting-College-So-I'm-Going-To-Be-A-Drama-Queen/King-With-The-Weather-Instead" school of thinking. Give me a friggin' break!

The only person that I actually trust on that channel is Dr. Lyons. He's very matter-of-fact and gives as many possible scenarios as he can. He doesn't try to scare the beejesus outta anyone nor does he sound like he actually *hopes* that a system gets worse/strengthens/intensifies.

But there are people worse than the Drama Kings and Queens on channel 362 (DirecTv). Oh yes, my dear loyal readers. You have people locally who are uneducated and/or just thrive on catastrophe, etc.

Now, keep in mind that this thing is about 3hrs from making official landfall and it's STILL a

TROPICAL STORM!!!

So yesterday, people have allowed themselves to succumb to a state of near panic. Gas lines were miles long. Grocery shelves were emptying rapidly. People's tempers were flaring and curse words were flying. You'd have thought the end of the world was nearing!

I was LIVID to say the least. I mean, here I am, a girl who lives in a

THIRTY FOUR FOOT METAL TIN CAN PIECE OF SH*T RV
and was *I* freaking out? Not even a teensy bit. I was pissed at how assine everyone else seemed to be handling things, however. Don't get me wrong... I'm glad that people were taking things seriously and trying to be prepared. It's the attitudes and actions/reactions that made me upset.

It's as though there isn't balance with society... not many people took last year's storms seriously and we all know the devasting results there. And yet, this year people are going overboard when a Tropical Storm is approaching. The forecast isn't even calling for much in the way of power outages!!!

So, do I love living in south Florida? You betcha! Does the threat of tropical systems bother me? Not at all. Am I intolerant of lunacy and idiotic behavior? Absolutely!

See ya on the flip side of the storm!

Until next time... peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey