today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-10-02 - 6:41 a.m.

Loyal Readers: Thanks for all the positive feedback about my exciting news. As far as posting the essay... I have mixed feelings about that. However, I'd be happy to email it to anyone who really wants to read it. Just keep in mind that it was an assignment where we had to discuss something that we did in our lives that has had an impact. (So you understand why I wrote the particular essay.)

So, just send me a email and I'll send you the essay.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, on with the show.......

Do you know how difficult it is to almost cry and jog on the treadmill at the same time? [insert laugh]

Well, it's challenging because apparently crying requires a lot of breathing and so does jogging. And, I found out this morning that it's hard to do both at the same time! (Cry & Breathe and Jog & Breathe)

As I may have mentioned before, when I'm on my treadmill, I love to watch all kinds of programs to distract me from the actual exercise. My particular treadmill is wired right into my TiVo so I can also fast forward to commericals as well. I have a little screen right in front of me that makes it easy to see.

Lately, I've been watching a lot of "Jon & Kate Plus 8". I just adore those little kids. Almost makes me wanna go out and have one... tee-hee. Seriously though, I love how they're all about family and sharing and etc. And, it's entertaining as well.

I also decided to get into watching this year's "Biggest Loser". I love watching these people get inspired to make healthy choices. I am there in my home rooting for them. I know how difficult it is to make a commitment to be healthier! Mine started with giving up smoking. And we all know that in itself is quite a battle. I especially find myself drawn (while I'm watching the show) to the older folks who just don't want to have to take a zillion pills anymore just to get through their daily routine. And many of them, by the time they go home, either don't require the meds or they have decreased the number that they're taking.

If you don't watch the show, this year is focusing on husband & wife teams as well as parent & child teams. It's so cool to see them support each other and encourage each other and just making the commitment to be healthier. And usually that is more focused on the overall picture than just losing weight. I also like that they help these individuals figure out why they became so unhealthy to begin with.

As I mentioned, it's awe-inspiring to just watch how hard they work and how much they overcome each and ever week. It helps me stay focused as well. For example, I was a little more tired this morning than usual (I think this is a result of Aunt Flo--- sorry, TMI...) and contemplated not working out. Then I remembered that I had an episode of "Biggest Loser" to watch and got all excited to get on my treadmill. (I know, I'm a geek!)

The best part is even when a person/team gets sent home, many of them continue their journey and their follow-up interview is always peppered with phrases like: "I feel so great", "I have a lot of energy", "I don't take medication any more", "I can enjoy my family more", etc. I like that it's not just focused on the weight loss. Of course, that's important too but that they learn just good eating habits and exercise---which both of these definitely lead to a better quality of life as they get older.

This one guy in particular, a dad, was having difficulty in a relay. He couldn't really "run" but he kept up a brisk walk. He started to limp, but he pushed through it. He didn't give up. Finally, unfortunately, the pain was too much. A medic evaluated him and determined that he needed to go into a hospital for further testing. His young daughter was worried that he had a blood clot in his leg (or worse, multiple blood clots). He came back and the only thing that was wrong--- a torn/pulled hamstring!! She was relieved and believe it or not, so was I! It was neat to see that he was proud of himself for only having a muscle injury (due to all the hard work he'd been doing) instead of a serious medical issue. This is where I started to tear up and basically "whimper". Tough to do while jogging on the treadmill! *giggle*

I am glad to see that more and more people are seeing the benefits of eating leaner meats, more veggies and fruits and trying to not eat too many processed or fast foods and incorporating this into their overall lifestyle. That's what it's about... making little changes that equate to big results----- longer, healthier, more vibrant lives!

I just wish I could wave a magic wand and give this gift of healthy, quality living to every person on the planet!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey