today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2003-05-04 - 8:30 a.m.

Last Sunday, Ben and I visited "The Angel Oak" on Johns Island, SC. It is a massive live oak tree that has been alive for 300 - 400 years. Rumour has the tree alive for well over 1400 years, but that's just a rumour and not fact.

Some interesting facts about the tree:

It is 65 feet tall.

It has a circumference of 25.5 feet.

It's longest branchis 89 feet.

That branch is 11.25 feet in circumference.

In other words, it's a hellaciously BIG DAMNED tree! Pictures speak louder and better than words, so I'll use them to tell the rest of the story.....

This is Angel Oak

A back view

My handsome guy!

I look really teeny next to the trunk!

A cute photo of me!

If any of you are in the Charleston area, I highly recommend going to see this gorgeous tree. It doesn't cost anything except for your time.

It's a site I'll always remember.

Thought Of The Day:"Suburbia is where the developer bulldozes out the trees, then names the streets after them."--Bill Vaughan

Thought Of The Day #2:"The trees that are slow to grow bear the best fruit."--Moliere (1622 - 1673)

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey