today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2003-04-27 - 7:25 a.m.

It's not a competition, but just for fun I decided to see how many diaryland entries Karyl, my sister had written thus far. Then I went to my profile page to check how many I have written.

Drum roll please....

As it turns out, I have 324 to her 271. Now how did that happen? She started at Diaryland before I did. Well, it's about quality, not quantity. Her entries are definitely better than mine. That's kind of why I haven't written much lately. Each day I check my Buddy List and there are a few people on there that write so well that when I get done reading their entry, I don't think I can measure up. Again, I know this is not a competition.

But at times I just feel inadequate.

Can I say THAT, Karyl??? :-)

Besides, it's not as though I lead a very romantic or thrilling life. Though, there are times when someone meets me for the first time and they inquire what I do for an occupation that I explain about Ben working for the FAA and how we live in a 34' RV that we travel in from town to town. They almost always comment gushingly, "OH! That sounds like soooooo much fun! I bet you love that!"

And I grimace but try to answer politely, "Not so much." Inside, I'm thinking, You IDIOT! It is not fun to be constantly on the move, without a homebase and without a firm network of friends. I do NOT enjoy that the only contact I have with those I love and care about usually is by computer or phone. I do NOT like the fact that I don't have girlfriends to go to lunch with, to shop at the mall with, to talk about girly stuff, etc. etc.

Instead, I manage a smile and utter the same phrase I say to each person that thinks my life is oh-so-glamourous, "Well, it's really tough to move from town to town and not have any friends to hang out with etc, etc."

Speaking of my oh-so-glamourous life, wanna know what I did last night?

Now, imagine first that I am a 28 year old woman who does not have any children and therefore a lot of time and freedom to do as I please on a Saturday night. Also keep in mind that my husband, who is 29, shares that time and freedom with me. Add to the equation that we're both young at heart and are doing "okay" financially.

With all of that knowledge, most would think that 2 lovelies our age would be headed off to the nightclubs for some cocktails and some groove-shakin'. Or, perhaps a romantic dinner followed by a passionate night in bed.

Oh, not us.

Quite the contrary.

We, my beloved readers, spent our evening last night in front of a fire ring tossing old receipts and copies of paid bills into a blazing fire. I had been asking Ben to take our receipts/bills to work and put them through the shredder. I thought he had done this. As it turns out, as I'm going through receipts and reading locations on the tops of the little pieces of paper such as Oklahoma City and realizing that we were there back in 2000!!! There were receipts from 2000, 2001, 2002 and present.

Yes, indeedy Diaryland, that's how I spent my Saturday night.

woo-hoo.

Oh, I guess I should mention that during this blazing fun, I did make Ben and I each a Michele's Apple Martini. Which, by the way, is not a martini at all. But tastes DAMNED good.

And I was in bed by 10 pm.

Sickening, isn't it??

Thought Of The Day:"Youth would be an ideal state if it came a little later in life."--Herbert Henry Asquith (1852 - 1928)

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey