today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-08-10 - 15:43hrs.

i know this is unusual... i'm making an afternoon entry. but, hey at least ya get a new one for today!

have you ever done something for awhile and then wondered why you do it? i had that phenomenal thought hit me today. THAWACK! did ya feel the ground shake in the aftermath? anyway, i have this weird new habit i started like about a month or so ago. maybe a little longer. whenever i go to super wal-mart, which is like every other day for cryin' out loud, when i'm done shopping i always return my cart to the cart corrall. (<---sp?) now, that is not unsual, but what i do next, is. if there are more than 3 carts in the corral all haphazardly, i take it upon myself to organize them and put them together all nice and neat and inside one another. sometimes, i've stood there for 5 minutes rearranging over 20 carts. i can't help it. i call it my "good deed of the day" and i always feel better afterwards.

i've even been known to organize shelves in a grocery store or stack my empty dishes all neatly after a meal in a restaurant. i suppose that's the anal retentiveness of my highly organized self.

when i lived in virginia in an apartment complex called "Pinewood Gardens", i was a total neat freak. (i still am, just a lot more relaxed about it) everything in my clothes closet had to be facing the same way and in color order. what i mean is, the white shirts/blouses go first, then the next lighter shade then into the reds, oranges, greens, blues, browns and a few miscellanous black clothing items. and then underneath my hanging "rainbow" all my shoes neatly lined up according to colour and style. sneakers with hiking boots and high heels with flats or sandals. sickening, isn't it? i was almost in cardiac arrest when i saw recently my sister's way of organizing her shoes... she has them all thrown together haphazardly in a large laundry basket. ahhhhhhh!!! i was just itching to go in there and take the shoes, find them their mates,and let them live happily side by side one another resting on the closet floor. but, i resisted as it IS my sister's domain and not mine. (one day i'll have to tell you all about her shoe fettish.... holy toledo!)

i still am organized and neat and clean, but now at least if something is out of place, i don't have heart palpitations and i don't start sweating profusely. (ok, so i never really did that, but you get the picture i'm trying to paint here folks)

one day, i decided to ponder why i became so almost near obsessed with cleanliness and organization. to give you an even clearer picture of how much of a neat freak i am i can honestly say that my parents NEVER and i mean NEVER told me to clean my room. they couldn't.... it always was. and my bed was always made before i left the house. so back to the pondering. i think i became so clean and organized because when i was little, my parents (my mom and dad when they were still married) constantly fought. big fights. the "tupperware-is-shooting-across-the-room-and-the-table-is-turned-upside-down" kind of fights". anyhow, i was very young, about 3 or 4. in my world of chaos, i developed these organizational skills as a way of coping and as a way to have control in a very uncontrolled enviornment. pretty deep, huh?!? are ya impressed with Dr. Joyce Brothers-Wood? ha ha ha

anyway, that's my explanation.

just a little dive into the depths of my intricate life.

Thought Of The Day: "Realize deeply that the present moment is all you ever have."--Eckhart Tolle

Until next time... peace, love & Health!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey