today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-06-12 - 12:40 p.m.

I'm sure none of you are going to be too surprised or shocked at what I have to blog about today but I thought it'd be therapuetic for me to get it off my chest and be done with it.

At least for 10 minutes. *grin*

Yesterday after work, Ben and I stopped by the local Super Target for a few things we were out of; apples, bananas, baby carrots, toilet paper and tampons.

I've been noticing a trend the last several weeks that as the gas prices have been steadily increasing, so are the prices of food. And I don't mean gradually either.

For example, a year ago when I purchased my favorite Cameo apples, it cost me $1.39 / lb. (Sorry, I don't know how to convert this to Rands.) Then a few months later they were $1.49 / lb. Then $1.59 / lb. They stayed at $1.59 / lb for quite some time. Then last WEEK... L A S T week, the price went up to $1.69 / lb. Last night, the price was $1.79!!!! In one friggin' week, the price of apples jumped leaped 10 cents a pound! And bananas had been holding steady at 59 cents a pound. Last night: 69 cents a pound!!!

I was nervous to round the corner and look at the price of tampons. I got pissed with Playtex about 9 months ago when they did away with the SlimFit tampons. Then they tried to pass of their new "Sport" tampons on us. First of all, these "Sport" tampons came in a quantity of only 18 where the SlimFits came in 20. Second, the plastic applicator wasn't shaped the same as their SlimFits, Regulars and Supers. And to add to that.... the applicator is this funky shade of GREEN!!! At least the other applicators are either pearlescent pink or white. Green?? G R E E N?? What were they thinking?

Since the SlimFits were no longer available and I didn't like the Sport, I tried the Regulars. Not too bad... speaking strictly of comfort. However, they did the same thing with the quantities--- used to come in 20s then 18s. And of course, the 18s cost more than the box of 20s used to cost. So as a result, I started to buy the economy box. For $6.99 you can get 40 (I think there are 40 in there) tampons whereas the Regulars are $3.99 for 18.

I pushed my cart (or buggy for you weird West Coast people...heh heh) down the aisle. Much to my surprise, they did not increase the price of the economy box. AND, I was actually shocked to see that they had increased the quantity of the Sport & Regulars to 20 and dropped the price to $3.89!!

I get so mad about tampon prices because you literally throw them "away"--- making me feel like at times that I'm flushing my cold, hard cash down the toilet! I know some people prefer most cost effective methods and I applaud you for that but I just can't wrap my mind around using one of those cuppy thingys. Hell, I can't even wrap my mind (or my cervix) around the idea of using a diaphragm or sponge! In fact, not to get personal but I don't even like condoms. I figure: "Hey, I'm married and neither of us have any STDs, I don't need no stinkin' condoms!" Besides, that's what BCPs are for, right?

OH and thank GOD for insurance. There's another thing I don't get. When I first was put on this particular BCP, there wasn't a generic equivalent available for it. I had to buy the name brand. Ok. Fine. My insurance at the time had a deductible I had to meet and then afterwards, I'd pay $30 for each months' supply. (It's a lot less of a co-pay for the generics.) One time, out of curiousity I asked the pharmacist how much the prescription would cost me if I bought it outright. It was $38.00--- keep in mind that this was about 5 or so years ago. (Could be longer, I don't remember.) A year later, it was $42.00-- I know this because I had to meet the deductible first before I could pay the $30 co-pay. Six months later (thankfully after I met my deductible and was paying $30 a month for the 'script) the price outright jumped to $48. Last year, my insurance decided that there wouldn't be any more deductible but the co-pay increased from $30 to $40 for the prescription. However, the outright price is now up to $52.00!!!! I mean, c'mon..... FIFTY TWO DOLLARS FOR 30 LITTLE PILLS??? And for me, I don't even take that last row of the sugar pills. So essentially, I would be spending $2.48 PER PILL!!! As it is, I still spend $1.90 per pill with my co-pay.

Having bitched about all that, I *DO* realize that $40 or even $52 dollars a month is a HELLUVA lot cheaper than paying for a kid! I applaud you people who are doing it now in today's economy. I'd want to rip my hair out!

On the flip side, there's another med that I take that costs me $40 per month with my co-pay but outright would cost me more than $150.00 every thirty days. So there are definite benefits to having insurance. I just wish IT didn't cost $200 a month!! (And Ben and I have one of the least expensive companies out there.)

At the rate things are going, our society is going to become a group of anorexic hermits!! Too expensive to eat and too expensive to go anywhere!

In the words of Forrest Gump: "And that's all I hafta say 'bout that!"

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey