today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-09-14 - 8:10pm

It's strange for me to sit down and type an entry at night. Usually, I write my diary page 12 hours earlier. The reason there wasn't an entry this morning is because I had a hair appointment at 8am all the way across town and through traffic, so I had to kind of rush this morning.

Today has been exhilirating <---sp? for me. It started off well for no particular reason at all, I was just consumed by sheer excitement for the day.

Everything went well at the hair salon and my hair looks awesome. But that's not the best part of my day!

The best part happened this afternoon when I went to Mailboxes Etc. to pick up my mail. (that's where we're renting our box) I was mailing a card to my girlfriend, Helen in England. I didn't have enough postage on it, so Tracy (she owns the place and is extremely nice and very friendly) suggests that she meter it so I don't have to fill up the front of the card with a lot of stamps. The total came to $1.02. I didn't have any cash on me so I asked her, "Will you take a check? It's an out of state check?" (My checks are from Florida as is my driver's license) Anyhow, she says, "SURE! I know ya, Michele!" I dig in my purse for my checkbook, when all of a sudden the gentleman next to me plunks down a dollar and a quarter on the counter and says, "I got it!"

I am dumbfounded by this random act of kindness and thank him profusely! I was in awe that there are still generous and kind people in the world. I was under the impression that our society had become so "Me, me, me, me, me" that I thought that a pure stranger couldn't possibly ever be considerate to his fellow man/woman. (for those of you who want to be politically correct...I don't care either way)

So, I decide right there on the spot that it would only be right for me to do a good deed. (I do one good deed a day anyway, but wanted to do an extra special good deed this time.) If you have ever heard Clay Walker's "Chain Of Love" you know exactly what I am talking about.

I decided to buy lunch for the lady and her assistant who run the front office here at the RV park. I knew there is a major event going on and they would be busy checking people in all day to the point they probably wouldn't have time to get something for themselves.

So, off to TGIFriday's I go. I order them each a Turkey Croissant Sandwich complete with fries and a Coke. When I walked through the door, their faces lit up. They were so happy I had brought them something to eat. Each of them asked me, "How much do I owe you?" I said, "Nothing. That's not the point. The point is to be kind and do something nice for someone else." They smiled and said thank you. And, by golly it felt good. I so much enjoy doing nice things for other people ESPECIALLY when it's appreciated.

Thought Of The Day: "The Return we reap from generous actions is not always evident."--Francesco Guicciardini

Thought Of The Day #2: "The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit."--Nelson Henderson

Until next time... peace, love, HEALTH & Kindness









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey