today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-01-15 - 9:51 a.m.

Something is seriously wrong with me, people.

Now before you start making snide comments under your breath, I'm serious.

I want to know why spelling errors piss me off. Really. When someone writes something down and has spelling errors it irks me to no end.

And I'm not talking about the hard words in our oh-so-complex language. I am talking about simple, every day words and/or phrases. I am not saying that I am perfect. I'm not. In fact, for the first 26 years of my life I spelled this word as such:

definately

Of course, with a gentle reminder by my lovely sister, Karyl, I no longer spell that word incorrectly and instead remember to spell it as such:

definitely

One of the most common spelling errors is the words a lot. C'mon people, did you not pay attention in 7th grade English class? It is NOT spelled:

ALOT

IT IS TWO WORDS, NOT ONE!!!

Here is an easy way to remember how to spell that correctly... if you wanted to eat more than a regular amount of pie, you would eat A whole LOT of pie. See how the word "whole" separates a and lot? Hopefully that will help 80% of the 90% of adults that make that common spelling error.

Here's a tough one that I just recently learned:

convenient

I realize also that these diary entries are informal and we're not writing college papers here, but some things are just wrong.

You should not write: "I could of won the lottery."

You SHOULD write: "I could've won the lottery."

Here are two more examples of words being confused when written:

stationary

stationery

and

lose

loose

And for those of you domestic goddesses:

vacuum

Yes, there are 2 "U's" in vacuum. Not 2 "C's".

It's especially irrating to see spelling errors when I know that most of those errors could be corrected by a simple press of the button.

SPELL CHECK, people! Please, I beg you. Use that function. It will make you look more intelligent. Or, follow my personal rule: if you are unsure how to spell a particular word then don't use it. Try to see if you can find another word that expresses the same idea but is a word that you can actually spell correctly! :-) Isn't that easier???

I hope you paid attention---there will be a test!

Thought of The Day: "ORTHOGRAPHY, n. The science of spelling by the eye instead of the ear. Advocated with more heat than light by the outmates of every asylum for the insane. They have had to concede a few things since the time of Chaucer, but are none the less hot in defence of those to be conceded hereafter.

A spelling reformer indicted
For fudge was before the court cicted.
The judge said: "Enough --
His candle we'll snough,
And his sepulchre shall not be whicted."
--Ambrose Bierce (1842 - 1914), The Devil's Dictionary

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey