today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-10-15 - 3:43 a.m.

I'm very confused. (So what else is new?) I received 2 more comments on yesterday's entry about the stall etiquette thing... however, the bulk of my entry was about working on Fridays. So, I wonder if eitehr HaloScan was screwy or if Diaryland was all mucked up. Very odd indeed. Anyway, the whole thing the day before that about the stall thing was more for comic affect than anything else. I mean, it doens't *REALLY* bother me if someone sits in the stall near mine.

Anywho....

This weekend I got to experience once again, the pure joy & innocence of a little child. There is nothing better than seeing a child's face light up brighter than the sunrise on a clear morning.

I went to the really BIG Publix (grocery store) in West Palm because I had some other stuff to do there, too. Well, there were these two little cub scouts with their parents (and wearing their uniforms) and they were raising money for their troop.

I have this personal rule. Whenever I see a child selling something for a good cause (especially if it looks legit and their parents are supervising)I will ALWAYS donate/contribute so long as I have cash on hand.

Usually the group is selling something that I'm just not interested in "purchasing". For example, this time the troop was selling bags of microwave popcorn. Usually it's candy bars or such.

The little 5 or 6 year old boy with his dark chocolate eyes and cocoa skin looked up at me and asked so sweetly if I'd like to buy some popcorn to support his cub scout troop. And my usual reply---slightly modified per the circumstance---was, "How about this? I give you the money but YOU eat the popcorn for me." I handed him a $5.00 bill [R46.9]. His eyes were the size of saucers, his smile spread across his face and he just beamed at me. I was so thrilled to make him so excited. He stood there, almost paralyzed and his mom had to gently remind him to say thank you to me. His mom even thanked me for my generous contribution.

I get that reaction a lot because the child and/or parent just can't believe someone would freely donate the money without taking the goods with him/her. But I really don't mind. I remember what it was like to sell Girl Scout cookies when I was just a little older than that little boy.

While I was inside the store doing my shopping, I ran into the mom in the produce section. She thanked me again for my contribution. I was so glad to make their day. I just feels good to do something kind like that!

And you know how I'm always talking about Karma? You never know when it'll come back to you---whether it's good or bad? Well, ironically yesterday morning, the one female technician we have at work just randomly gave me $5.00 towards all the baking that I bring in for everyone to enjoy.

Ahhh... feels great to know that in my own way, I'm making the world a teeny bit brighter for those around me!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey