today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-08-16 - 7:05 a.m.

It's amazing how much a person's perspective can change in a few years.

Once upon a time ago, I was of the mind-set that pets were just animals. That was, of course, until I had my own. Ben's brother has two dogs. One of the dogs needed an expensive surgery a few years ago. The surgery was well over $700. He didn't have the money to pay for it, but without the surgery, the dog would have died. I am not cruel or insensitive by any means, but at that time I didn't understand why it was crucial for him to come up with the money. I was thinking of his wife & kids and how much they needed food, clothing & shelter.

But pets are much more than animals. I've learned that since "adopting" Trip more than 2 years ago. He is my baby. I don't have any children as of yet, so that makes my feelings for him more intense and real. He IS my child. I hug him and kiss him as I would a baby and I make sure he has good food and fresh clean water all the time. In fact, he probably has fresher water to drink than a lot of people I know! His "toilet" (read: litter box) is always cleaned. Twice a day. He is definitely well-loved. He has free roam of the RV pretty much.

We buy him treats and toys. He L-O-V-E-S his catnip filled crab. Just as any normal kitty would! He's funny and ornery at the same time. He's adorable, too. He can be just sitting there, looking up at me wide-eyed and innocent and I just melt. Gosh, I'm in BIG trouble when I do finally have a baby!!!

Today, I am taking him to the Kitty Doctor. Just as a parent takes an infant for vaccines and boosters, I do the same with Trip. Today he is getting his rabies shot. And, he is getting a FVRCP vaccine. Whatever that is. I just know he needs it. He's on flea medication as well as heartworm pills, too. I want him to have optimium health and live a lonnnnng, happy life.

I only wish that he could speak to me and tell me that he loves me back. Between you and me, I know that he does love me... especially between the hours of 8:30pm and 9pm. That's when I feed him his packet of Whiskas wet food. He loves me a lot right then! Silly kitty!

See... you can't help but love this little guy!

Thought Of The Day:"Of all nature's gifts to the human race, what is sweeter to a man than his children?"--Marcus Tullius Cicero

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey