today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-01-18 - 07:20am

Alright, ya'll...this one is gonna be short & sweet.

Like me! :-) hee, hee!

I gotta make it quick because I'm going to the gym this morning to have my gluteus-MAXIMUS whipped into shape by Robert, the Tae-Bo instructor. He's hysterical. But, I'll tell you about him in another entry.

As a woman, I am naturally critical of myself. It's in my DNA. It's in almost all women's DNA to be critical of her appearance and various other aspects of her life. Anyhow, I'm constantly disappointed in my face. Not how it looks from a few feet away or how it's constructed, but how many imperfections I have.

Like the tiny, broken capillaries in deep red on either side of my nose. That is definitely hereditary. (Thanks, Mom!....{sarcasm here} ) Or the pink splotches on my cheeks. Or the shadows of pimples of long, long ago. (no, i don't squeeze them any more... that can cause permanent scarring i have discovered!)

So, I try to buy the best foundation that has the best coverage to hide these flaws. Anyone close to me knows I'm a walking advertisement for Clinique. I swear, I need to work there just to support my habit! :-) I've tried a few, and the one that I'm currently using isn't too bad. I wish it covered more and lasted a little longer through my day, but it does a decent job.

I know, I'm babbling again. I do actually have a point here. So, I wear foundation and powder to camoflauge these skin flaws as best as I can.

Yesterday, I'm at Talley's, the local health food store, when this woman (I'd say she was about 35 - 40) wearing not a stitch of make-up herself, turns around in line and compliments me. She says, "You have truly beautiful skin. You're not wearing foundation are you?!?" I'm blown away by this comment and stutter my answer back to her. "Actually, I'm wearing both foundation and powder." She was amazed. She says, "What brand do you use?" I tell her Clinique. She asks if I wash my face with their products. I do use the toner, but not their soap and instead of trying to explain all that in the short amount of time we had in line, I simply told her that I use another brand. (which, by the way if anyone is interested in an excellent face wash that removes makeup, dirt, oil and residue and leaves your face feeling soft, silky and clean, I've been very satisfied with this product: basis "cleaner clean face wash") It also smells really good, too!

The irony of this conversation is obvious, but I have to also mention that this is the 3rd or 4th time I've received that compliment from another woman. So, why do I still continue to obsess over the flaws I see in my complexion?!?

....the world will never know!

Thought Of The Day:"Man [woman] is the only creature that refuses to be what he is." --Albert Camus

Until next time...peace, Clinique & HEALTH!!! :-)









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey