today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-11-18 - 12:31 p.m.

I find it ironic that before I started taking college classes, I thought that my life was dull. However, I know realize that actually Life Before College was pretty damned exciting in comparison.

I'm not complaining, though.

Today is the Great American Smokeout. I wonder how many people actually particpate in this annual program? And, of those who decide to quit smoking for the entire day, how many of them stay quit indefinitely?

I am glad that smoking cessation is not a concern for me. Been there. Done that. Got the tee-shirt and the healthy, pink lungs. heh heh

Often, I've also wondered what the world would be like today had cigarettes not been invented. Hmm...now there's a thought to ponder.

In the news, various countries in Europe are passing laws making it illegal to smoke just about anywhere except your own home or car. It's still legal to smoke in a privately owned pub, so long as food is not served at the establishment.

Florida has similiar laws, though not quite as broad. It's enjoyable to walk into a restaurant, approach the hostess, and not hear: "Smoking or Non-smoking?"

I do wish, however, that Florida (as well as the other 49 states) would pass a law making it illegal for employees to smoke directly outside of a store's entrance. I cannot tell you how many times I've been walking up to the doors of Target and inevitably an employee (or two) is hangin' out, puffing away. I'm then forced to walk through as well as inhale the disgusting smoke. Ugh.

Don't get me wrong, for you smokers out there, it's your choice. I realize that it is. However, it is not *my* choice to breathe your smoke or engage in your habit. Of course, I think it'd be a lot healthier and the air a lot cleaner if no one smoked. I know that is a fantasy never to come true.

I don't want to come across as self-righteous, but I've been on both sides of the fence and let me tell you the grass really *IS* greener on the non-smoking side.

Thought Of The Day: "Quitting smoking is easy, I've done it thousands of times." --Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)

Until next time... peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey