today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-10-18 - 10:04 a.m.

Let me explain those pictures. You see, when my sister, Karyl was just a toddler her favorite place to hide-out was this particular cupboard in the kitchen. She's about age 2 in that top photo. See the huge smile on her face? She's at peace in HER cupboard.

Ahem. Michele pauses for dramatic effect.

In the second photo, I'm the one sitting in the cabinet. Notice the grimace upon Karyl's face? She was NOT happy that I was in HER cupboard.

Of course, I thought it was hilarious! However, I don't think she was quite as amused. To this day, I think she ever got over it, either! (hee, hee!) ----teasing you, Karyl!

Speaking of childhood memories, I remember when Velcro shoes were THE thing to wear. Of course, now-a-days Velcro shoes are for toddlers who don't know how to tie laces and for geriatrics whose fingers just aren't nimble as they once were. Velcro shoes are just not fashionable-----not yet at least. I say not yet because you know how FASHION, like history, tends to repeat itself. ;-)

Anyway, while surfin' the ole net the other night I came across some useless knowledge about Velcro. Here's what I found compliments of www.uselessknowledge.com :

In the early 1940's, Swiss inventor Georg deMestral went on a walk with his dog...upon his return home, he noticed that his dog's coat and his pants were covered with cockleburrs. His inventor's curiousity led him to study the burrs under a microscope, where he discovered its natural hook, like shape. This was to become the basis for a unique, two-sided fastener--one side with stiff "hooks" like the burrs and the other side with the soft "loops" like the fabric of his pants. The result was VELCRO brand hook & loop fasteners, name for the French words "velour" and "crochet".

See, you can actually LEARN something from the internet!!!

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Thought Of The Day:"Big sisters are the crab grass in the lawn of life."--Charles Schulz (1922 - 2000) US cartoonist

Thought Of The Day #2:"It is only the women whose eyes have been washed clear with tears who get the broad vision that makes them little sisters to all the world."--Dorothy Dix (1870 - 1951) US journalist, writer

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey