today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2005-05-19 - 9:09 a.m.

I meant to update sooner, but Ben had the digital camera at work.

I swear! I'm not fibbin' here people!

Anyway...

My sister Karyl, has successfully done a home repair. I, on the other hand, have done a home "make-over". Ok, not a full make-over, but revamped my living room area in the RV.

If you didn't know, one of the biggest things I've always complained about when it comes to this RV is the color scheme: Dusty Rose (mauve) and Country Blue. Can you say: puke central?!? You know a man had to have come up with that combo. Granted, the RV was built in the early 90s, but c'mon!

In the living room were these two, small "Dusty Rose" colored recliners. They were already quite worn when we bought the RV six and a half years ago. Not to mention that they were a hideous color. Ugh.

So, for the last year, Ben and I have been scoping out small sofas or loveseats that would recline. Last summer we had our eye on a nice leather one, but it was out of stock from the warehouse. We kept diligent in our search.

Ben has been wanting to sit on a couch with me (for cuddling purposes while watching the ole boob tube) for as long as I can remember. When we had the recliners, we'd have to outstretch our arms just to make any contact.

This weekend we were successful! We found the PERFECT couch. It had to meet these requirements:

1) the right color
2) the right shape
3) the right poofiness (yes, this is a word!)
4) the right comfort
5) had to recline
6) the reclining mechanism had to support the back of Ben's knees/calves while sitting on it

Last but not least: it had to fit in the RV.

We had it. This was THE couch! We raced home to take measurements.

Suddenly our bubble was burst. It wasn't going to fit. We needed 4 inches. We went back to the store with our heads hung down in disappointment and told the sales rep that we wouldn't be buying the couch after all.

As we were walking out of the store and on our way to our car, the rep calls out to us.... we turn and he says, "It comes apart!"

What?!?!?

Yep! The backs of the couch have a lever and a release and they simply "pop" off. This made it easy as hell to get it into the RV. (Do you remember last summer when Ben had to cut our wall to get the washer & dryer to fit?!?)

We were happy as clams. (Are clams really happy? I mean, after all, we steal their pearls and then submerge them in boiling hot water...)

I digress.

Without further adieu, I bring you a before and after photo.


and....

Now all I need is a good movie and a bowl of popcorn!!! *wink*

Thought of The Day: "The only really good place to buy lumber is at a store where the lumber has already been cut and attached together in the form of furniture, finished, and put inside boxes."--Dave Barry (1947 - )

Until next time...peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey