today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-09-19 - 7:20 a.m.

I'm really looking forward to when we finally buy a digital camera and a scanner! You, my reader, will be inundated with pictures galore! I love being able to illustrate with visuals. I'm a very visual person.

In school, I learned a lot better when the teacher used visual aide or diagrammed on the chalkboard. When I can see an idea, I remember it more and can comprehend it easier.

So, I figure that other people are probably a lot like me. They are visual learners. Though, depending on the teacher, I don't automatically understand just because I can see it "on paper". My poor Dad... he tried so hard to teach me Algebra in 9th grade on our dry erase board in the kitchen. He was a much better math teacher than my step-mom, Marty, but there were times I just didn't get it. He had the patience of a saint during those homework times.

But I digress.

Back to discussing visuals. I love putting photos in my diary pages. (If you hadn't noticed!) Today, I'm going to put photos of the new shoes that Ben and I got over the weekend. I just adore my new shoes and look for excuses just to wear them. :-) I also found out that I am classified in the shoe universe as an 'overpronater'. I tend to roll my foot inward, yet my feet are turned out when I walk. Finding out that information has proven beneficial when choosing comfortable shoes. It's truly amazing how many people go around in the wrong shoe for their particular foot and how many of those same people are actually wearing the wrong sized shoe, too!

I hope this entry encourages you to go to a reputable shoe store next time you need new shoes and have your foot properly fitted. One of my best friends, Melissa, suggested this to me when I was shopping for running shoes. She specifically told me NOT to go to a Foot Locker or a similiar chain store. A lot of time the employees of those stores are just there to sell expensive shoes and they don't care if the shoes really fit your foot or not. I had this happen to me... I went to one of those chains and explained to the guy that I was a beginner jogger/runner and needed a good pair of shoes, but I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. He brought out a reputable brand of shoes that were on clearance (so they were in my price range), but what I was unaware of until I tried to go jogging in them, is that he sold me TRAIL running shoes! I jog on flat surfaces--particularly paved, flat surfaces. So, go to a small shoe store and find out how you walk and what shoes are really best for your particular feet. Think of your feet as the foundation of a house...if you don't have good support in the foundation, your house will eventually fall apart. You don't want to do that to your body!!!

Here are the walking shoes that Ben and I got this weekend. (I also have a pair just like Ben's for days when I'm walking more than a few hours.)

Ben's New Shoes

My New Shoes

I feel really cute wearing my Sketchers!

Cute, but comfy!

Sketchers Rule!

Thought Of The Day:"Better wear out shoes than sheets."--Scottish Proverb

Thought Of The Day #2:"Boots and shoes are the greatest trouble of my life. Everything else one can turn and turn about, and make old look like new; but there's no coaxing boots and shoes to look better than they are."--George Eliot (1819 - 1880) English novelist

Until next time... peace, love, Good Shoes, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey