today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-09-20 - 1:18 p.m.

DISCLAIMER: The following entry may anger several of my readers, particularly those who have been affected by the tragedy that occurred last week.

* * * * * * * * * *

Having said that, I want to vent some emotions. That's what this online diary is for, right?!? Usually, I try to talk about fun things going on with my personal life or share amusing pictures of myself. I try diligently to be entertaining and not downtrodden in my entries.

Today, I'm annoyed. I'm frustrated. I'm even the slightest big angry.

I am so damned sick of this crap! I am sick of people sending hundreds of foward-type emails...the ones with prayers and pictures and so forth. I realize that we've endured a great tragedy last week, but come on! The world is not going to end. I have all my faith in President Bush and our military. That's what they are there for... to fight battles we, as citizen's can't.

Having been prior active duty myself, I think I have all the authority to feel the way that I do.

I am most annoyed at going into a store and seeing the American flag displayed all over the damned place. It's in store windows, hanging from car antenna's, even saw one lady with all 10 fingers painted with flags. Don't get me wrong, I'm patriotic and love being an American. I enjoy the fact that I am free to speak my mind (as I am doing here) and free to practice any religion of my choosing. I can even vote for which candidate I think would make a better president for my country.

I don't take these things for granted, however, I also don't parade myself around as "Proud To Be An American", waving the flag only in a time of crisis.

That is why I am primarily upset. Before the World Trade Center and the Pentagon were attacked, hardly anyone brought out our great flag for display with the exception of July 4th, Memorial Day and Veteran's Day.

And this business of the candlelight vigils. Every damned day I'm hearing on the t.v. or the radio of a location where the announcer is encouraging folks to come on out with a candle lit at a particular time to show our support. HOW THE HELL DOES A LIT CANDLE SHOW SUPPORT?!?

I say if you want to help and support the cause, stop lighting candles and stop waving flags. Donate money or blood.

If I receive one more piece of email that has a flag to download for wallpaper or photos of bin Laden, I'm gonna scream.

My life goes on. I get up. I work out. I shop. I run errands. Call me cynical, but know that I am real. I am not fake. I do not run around pretending to be patriotic, waving our flag around only in times of crisis.

As someone famous once said, "This too, shall pass."

Thought Of The Day:"A man's country is not a certain area of land, of mountains, rivers, and woods, but it is a principle; and patriotism is loyalty to that principle."--George William Curtis (1824 - 1892) US author, editor

Thought Of The Day #2:"When a whole nation is roaring Patriotism at the top of its voice, I am fain to explore the cleanness of its hands and purity of its heart."--Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803 - 1882) US philosopher, poet, essayist

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey