today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-03-01 - 07:00am

OH Happy First Day of March everyone!

Yesterday I had an appointment for my annual exam. Yeah, that one. The one we as women dread and put off for as long as possible. I have discovered that they trick us into going. See, the doctors only prescribe a year's worth of birth control pills at a time so when you are nearing time to refill, you must go in for an exam. You cannot get the pills without the exam.

I've had some pretty rough experiences which I will not discuss the gory details here with my loyal audience. As a result, I was nervous all morning yesterday about going.

I left the house at 2pm for my 2:45pm appointment. Plenty of time to get there, right?!? Wrong-O! Of course this was not my fault. I have never been to that side of town and on top of that I had incorrect directions. I became frazzled! Here I was in some po-dunk little town, 5 minutes before my appointment and had no idea where I was or how to get where I needed to be.

Add to that the fact that I forgot to write the phone number down so that I could call and let the doctor's office know that I was running late.

I see a small craft store and decide to take my chances to get directions from the owner. Fortunately, he was very kind and knew exactly where I needed to be.

I get to my appointment and I'm only 5 minutes late. Unfortunately I had to wait an additional 30 minutes before I was seen.

The doctor greets me. She's very kind. We chat for a few minutes and I tell her about my past experiences and that I'm a bit nervous. She does a good job of making me feel comfortable. The exam goes well. A lot better than anticipated. I hop down off the exam table and breathe a deep sigh of relief. I think to myself, "At least I don't have to that again for an entire year!" :-)

* * * * * * * * *

I have to take this time to say a huge thank you. It's for my very close friend, Melissa. She has been very kind and supportive of me these last few days. A friend I had made here locally has decided for some unknown reason to turn her back on me. I was very hurt at first, but Melissa gave me sound advice and I was able to get over it quickly. Besides, I have to view it as though SHE (the other girl) is at the loss... not me. :-)

I received a little care pak from her yesterday. It was so great to get fun mail especially after my ordeal with going to my doctor's appointment! In the package she included 2 cards. Ben had this to say which made me laugh, "Why is that women have to send TWO cards? What is with that? Your mom does it, you do it and now Melissa has done it." :-)

The second card brought tears to my eyes. Literally. Happy tears that someone cares so much about me. ME! Yeah, little ole me! Let me backtrack for a moment for those of you who may be new here..... Melissa and I were best friends 7th, 8th, & 9th grade. After my freshman year, I moved to Illinois. We lost track of each other. I finally tracked her down via the internet last June. We've been close ever since. It was as if time had stood still. Our friendship is basically the same except that we're both grown and on our own. I love it!

Here is an excerpt of the beautiful words she penned for me:

..."The advice is invaluable, and your unwavering belief in me and my ability to achieve my goals helps me get through some moments where my confidence needs a boost. Thanks for believing in me, and helping me believe in myself. Its nothing short of wonderful being back in touch with you. I hope I never lose you again."

I hope I never lose her again either!

Thought of The Day: "It's the ones you can call up at 4 a.m. that matter." --Marlene Dietrich

Thought of The Day #2: "With the gift of listening comes the gift of healing." --Catherine de Hueck Doherty, writer

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey