today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2002-06-20 - 2:17 p.m.

HAPPY 50TH BIRTHDAY, MOMMA!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Today is my mom's 50th birthday. I can hardly believe that she's 50. It seems that only yesterday she was putting makeup on my face for Halloween!!!

She's a great mom! She used to make ALL my costumes from scratch!! She's a wiz on that sewing machine of hers. She even sewed my Senior Prom dress. Amazing, I tell ya! I fondly remember going with her to United of Virginia Bank, going through the drive-up and watching as magically the metal cylinder would be sucked up the clear plastic tube and when it came back, there would always be a lollipop inside for me.

I remember baking with Momma. She'd let me help make muffins or cookies. We did a lot of things together during the day until I was old enough to go to school.

She even taught me how to tie my shoes. Using a scrap piece of yellow polyester, I sat on the floor next to our avocado-green refridgerator and practiced and practiced and practiced until I finally got it right.

I remember when I was in 3rd grade, I finally learned how to put my hair into a ponytail using a rubberband made for hair. I was soooooo proud of myself, I went rushing into the kitchen to show Momma. She was beaming with pride. Of course, from that point forth, she stopped doing my hair for me....maybe that wasn't such a good idea for me to have learned how to do that on my own! :-) :-) :-)

Anyway, I hold many memories near and dear to my heart and am glad to wish her a very happy birthday! I wish that I could have been there today to celebrate it with her!

I'll leave you with one of my favorite "mother-daughter" photos:

Thought Of The Day:"God could not be everywhere, and so He made mothers."--Jewish Proverb

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey