today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-06-21 - 09:26:00am

Finally, I have so much I can put down on this page, I don't know where to begin. Should I tell you about how our cat decided out of the clear blue to keep us awake until 3 am and then we over slept as a result??? Nah, too boring.

Should I tell you about yesterday was my mom's 48th birthday and how very much she means to me and how much I love her? Nah, too sentimental.

Ok, here goes... in "response" to my sister's diaryland entry of last evening............. YES, it's true. I was a metalhead in the distant days of my youth. Of course, I am not going to take full responsibility. I put most of my blame on my influential best friend at the time, Kayce. Ah, yes. How I looked up to her. (Not just literally! hee hee) Kayce had two older brothers, Cale and Robb. *drool* I couldn't decide which was better looking; Cale was tall and quite thin. His hair was long, straight and a mousy brown, but his cheekbones were high and prominent and his mouth drawn into a perfect bow when he smiled just right. Robb on the other hand was a bit shorter and definitely "meatier". He had a nice round booty whereas Cale's just disappeared into the vast darkness of his painted on jeans. Robb's hair was much longer and wavier. It looked as though he had a spiral perm, but he didn't; it was 100% NATURAL. Men. Hmmph!! Why is it that they end up with the most beautiful hair while we women spend oodles and oodles of money to try to get our hair to behave?!?

Anyhow, both Cale and Robb were in bands. Cale's band, Militia was definitely HEAVY metal. Robb's band was more along the lines of Cheap Trick. Kayce loved heavy metal/hard rock music, so naturally I got involved in it too.

Saturday nights were my fav; I'd be allowed to spend the night at her house so long as I was ready to go to church with my parents in the morning. She and I would typically start the evening after her parents went to bed by watching "Pretty Woman." (It got to be such a routine that I can still to this day, quote most of that movie from memory!) Then by the time the movie ended it was time to flip to MTV and watch Headbanger's Ball with Rikki Rachtman. He was a character.

There was a beat up red couch on the show that Rikki would sit on and also interview various bands on as well. He got too attached to the couch in my opinion because he named the couch, Jennifer. Don't ask cuz I don't know.

I can remember drooling and feeling even a twinge "lusty" while watching videos from bands like L.A. Guns, Faster Pussycat, LynchMob, Poison, Warrant, etc. etc. I had a facination with long haired guys in tight pants. I don't understand about the long hair, but at least I can still agree with my reasonings for the tight pants. ::wink, wink:: (hey, i like a cute booty, i can't help it!!!

I was definitely a "headbanger". Though, to look at me most of the time or if you knew me, you might not have thought so. I didn't drink or do drugs. I had good grades in school. I didn't skip classes. I did smoke cigarettes occasionally at the time, but never at school. I was still your basic "goody-goody" who happened to like heavy metal music. :-) I did wear a lot of black clothing and hightop sneakers. I even coloured the underneath part of my hair black one time. I got the idea from Doro Pesche of Warlock. Damn! I wish I had that tape still. ::Deep sigh:: Ah, nostalgia!

Well, I hope you have enjoyed my slightly longer than usual trip down memory lane. Perhaps I'll have a second part to this in the future.

Thought Of The Day (#1):"People only see what they are prepared to see." --Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thought Of The Day (#2):When you choose your friends, don't be short-changed by choosing personality over character." --W. Somerset Maugham

Until next time... peace, love & Health!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey