today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-03-23 - 10:48 a.m.

I'm a smart & savvy shopper. After several years as a child accompanying my mom to the grocery store, I know how to shop wisely.

Grocery stores don't want you to be smart. They want you to be lured into their web of "savings" by offering promotions, discounts, and a shopper's card.

These shopper cards are a joke most of the time. The stores jack up the price, then put it on "sale" but only *IF* you have their store card. There are times that you can save money here and there with these cards and even more if you have a coupon for that item as well.

I play their little games. What they don't know is that I'm not really a "loyal" customer by having THEIR card... I have several cards from several different stores. (We travel the entire southeast region and not all areas have the same grocery stores at my disposal.) In fact, I counted them just the other day. I have so many that I put the mini-key chain versions of these shopper cards on their own separate key chain that I attach to the inside of my purse.

I have FIFTEEN different shopper's cards so far!

But I digress.

One particular grocery store here in the local Greensboro area is Lowe's Foods. They've been around so long that they still have the "green stamps" program in place though now it's called Green Points.

Ben stopped at the Lowe's Foods near the airport on the way home yesterday to pick up some groceries. When he got home he handed me 2 receipts. One receipt was for the groceries and the other was for a promotion that the store is having now through April 11, 2004.

I looked at the promo coupon more closely. I couldn't believe my eyes! Lowes's Foods is COUNTING on the average consumer to be a complete idiot!!!

See for yourself:

Yeah. That's what I said! They think they're doing you a big ole favor by offering you a bag of $.79 generic dinner rolls if you spend $250.00!!! And it's not even as if you get a name brand like Pillsbury or Pepperidge Farm. Oh, no! You get their store brand dinner rolls.

Yeah, so I'm so stupid that I'm gonna say to myself, "WOW! If I only spend $250.00 I get a FREE bag of store brand dinner rolls! Whoopee!"

As if.

But wait. There's more!

The more you spend, the more food you'll walk away with. In fact, if you spend $1250.00 (yes, you read that correctly; see above image) we'll provide you with your entire Easter dinner folks! So, keep shopping & spending and Easter dinner is on us!

Does anyone REALLY fall for this crap?

They're not gonna get me! I know the value of a REAL deal when I see one....

...cuz my Momma taught me that! :o)

Thought Of The Day: "The quickest way to know a woman is to go shopping with her." --Marcelene Cox

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey