today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-01-24 - 5:49 a.m.

Ok, so now I'm *MORE* confused than ever! I am ever thankful to my loyal readers who posted their opinions regarding hairstyles, but there really wasn't one definitive style that stood out from the rest. I think Long Cut #3 got 2 votes... I'll have to check... but there wasn't an overwhelming pull towards one particular style.(*see note at the bottom of the page*)

Hmm...

Well, anyway it was really cool to see that I had so many comments on my diary anyway. Glad to know I'm still loved!!

Speaking of my loyal readers, one of them specifically asked for the recipe I used to make the delcious cinnamon rolls. (There are photos of me making this recipe if you click on the Flickr banner at the left.)

So, who am I to keep a recipe secret? I will warn you, however: this recipe is *NOT* for the faint of heart! The first time it was a 4 hour evolution. And still the second time took 2. So beware all ye who opt to try this at home....

(and I am going to write the recipe with EXACTLY the ingredients that *i* used)

Ingredients:
2 (.25oz) packages of active dry yeast
2 1/2 C. warm water (110� F)
1 box of vanilla cake mix (I used an organic brand from Whole Foods Market the second time and had better results)
6 C. all-purpose flour, divided
3 eggs (I used Eggland's Best Organic)
1/3 C. expeller-pressed canola oil
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 C. Earth Balance, softened (instead of real butter)
about 1/4 C. sugar (I use Florida Crystals brand)
several tablespoons of cinnamon
1/4 C. Earth Balance, melted
1 1/2 box of confectioner's sugar (the 10x kind)
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2/3 C. milk (I used vanilla Silk)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water and let stand for 3 minutes. In a separate bowl, add cake mix, 1 Cup flour, eggs, oil and salt. Add the dissolved yeast to the dry ingredients and beat well. Stir in remaining flour until soft dough forms.

2. Knead on a well floured surface for about 5 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, and turn to coat the dough surface. Cover loosely with a towel or plastic wrap. Let rise until doubled in bulk, about an hour.

3. Preheat oven to 350� F.

4. Punch down dough and divide into two equal parts. Roll out each section on a lightly floured surface. Spread each with softened butter and sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon. (I heavily coated the dough the second time I made this and had better results.)

5. Roll up like a jelly rool and cut buns 1 to 1 1/2" thick with a piece of dental floss. Place in greased baking pans and allow to rise again. (Takes less time at this stage of the recipe.)

6. Bake at 350� for 25 to 35 minutes or until golden brown.

7. Make the icing. Combine confectioners sugar, 1/4 c. melted butter (Earth Balance), vanilla, and milk. Stir until smooth.

8. Remove baked buns from oven and cool for 5 to 8 minutes before drizzling with icing.

I found that kept in an airtight container, (I recommend Lock-n-Locks) these rolls will stay fresh up to 4 days. You can refrigerate them and as needed take one out, pop into microwave for 20 to 30 seconds, drizzle with icing and voila! tastes fresh baked.

If anyone is brave enough to try their hand at this time-consuming and slightly complex recipe, be sure to leave a comment or email me your results!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!

*Note*--turns out the votes so far total 4 for Long Cut #3 and 4 for Short Cut #1. However, Sis says Short Cut #3 and she knows me best.... maybe her vote will overrule all others! ;-)









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey