today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2002-03-26 - 7:43 a.m.

Have you heard about postage rates increasing again?!? Apparently, the cost to mail a letter is going to increase by 3 cents this summer.

Even though I feel it's ridiculous how often the postage rates keep increasing, I have to admit we're quite lucky that our postal system is relatively inexpensive overall.

Take for instance my experience at the Post Office yesterday...

Ben and I were sending out several boxes. One small box was going to my neice for her birthday. The next 3 large boxes were going to Ben's mom----she recently had hip surgery and can't get around well so we decided to send her a bunch of boxed goods so that she wouldn't have to go grocery shopping right away. Each of the 3 boxes weighed near 15lbs. For all three boxes to be delivered by Priority Mail cost near to $40; that also includes the tiny box going to my neice.

For those of you lucky readers who are familiar with Lara, she's sending me a package all the way from Australia. So, I decided to send her one as well. The box was not very big. It was only slightly larger than my neice's box. The gentleman at the counter offered to me my choices on how to send the package.

To send the package with a delivery of 4 to 6 weeks would cost approxiamately $15. To send it 5 or 6 day delivery would be $36. To send it 3 or 4 day delivery would cost $40. Now, how is it that there is such a discrepency (<-----sp?)in prices. Ben, being the man that he is and thinking in a very "Martian" way, suggested that we choose the $36 option. He was concerned because we were already spending near $40 for the other 4 boxes. I, on the other hand, being the woman that I am and thinking very much in a "Venutian" way pointed out that if we're going to spend $36, we may as well spend $40. What's another $4 in the big scheme of things?? The gentleman behind the counter says, "Normally I'd stick with ya man, 'cause us guys gotta stick together but she's got a point."

Ben agreed with the postal clerk. He fills out the forms and we pay for all of our packages.

The reason it costs so much to mail a small box to Australia isn't so much on our end so much as it is expensive once it reaches Australia. (this was explained to me when I mailed a box to England last year)

So, even though the price of postage stamps is increasing I am thankful that I can send 45lbs of stuff to Michigan for the same price a small box to Australia costs. :-)

PS- Lara... Ben says I have to wait awhile before I send another package your way. :-) I'm sure you can understand. Besides, our income tax refund only goes so far! **wink, wink**

Thought Of The Day:"Sometimes we need to remind ourselves that thankfulness is indeed a virtue."--William Bennett (1835 - 1910) US novelist

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey