today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2002-03-28 - 10:33 a.m.

There I am helping Momma make cupcakes. This picture was taken a little less than a month before my 5th birthday. I always enjoyed the times I spent with my mom.

I started flashing back and walking down Memory Lane when just moments ago, while listening to Music Choice set to the 70s channel, a particular song sparked a memory. The song: "Just When I Needed You Most" by Randy Vanwarmer. Most of you would know that song if you heard it. If I weren't a computer dummy, I'd find a way to put a link to this song in my diary. But I digress.

Anyway, this song and several others of the time remind me of when Momma would load me into the car, place me in the front seat and we'd spend the day at the grocery store or going to the bank.

I especially loved going to the bank. This was before ATMs were "invented". For you young pups, you may find this hard to believe, but it used to be that you had to deposit your checks through a little slot in the side of the bank and when they cleared your account, you'd go through the drive thru, watch the plastic tube in complete FASCINATION and you'd place your ID, your bank card, your and your withdrawal slip into said tube and watch it "magically disappear" into the tunnel. The cashier would then press a button to talk to you through the speaker and ask if your child would like a lollipop. Of course the answer was always an enthusiastic "Yes!please!" And after awhile, I guess the cashiers thought I was just too cute and would ask me which color I wanted. Usually I'd pick red. When they were out of red, I'd pick orange or green. YUM! Those were the days.

Of course, I forgot to mention to you kiddies that this was also the time when seat belt usage was not so "imporantant". I was 4 and a half and sitting in the front seat of an automobile that most certainly did NOT have airbags. You wonder how I didn't go sailing through the windshield when Momma had to suddenly slam on her brakes?? (Which, thankfully was not that often cuz she's a good driver...or used to be...ha ha, just kiddin' Momma!)Well, of course, I had what every kid had to protect them.... The Right Arm Of Mom. It would just fling out and land smack across your little chest with a crashing thud! Yeah, like her arm was rrrrrrreally gonna save me in a car accident. :-) You know though, it's a genetic defect. I swear. I don't even have kids, but I find myself flinging out My Right Arm to the passenger seat to save my purse from some impending doom! ;-) I know, I'm a nut. I've deteremined that I can't help it, it's a reflex passed from mother to daughter. I'll likely pass on this genetic mutation to my daughter someday.

You think that's amusing? Wait till I tell you of my Garbage Truck Fascination as a child!!!

Thought Of The Day:"God could not be everywhere, and so He made mothers."--Jewish Proverb

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey