today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-08-02 - 11:16 a.m.

Debit and check-cards are THE way to pay for purchases.

Yesterday was proof of this.

We met our friends, Bill & Patty at the movie theater around noon. Bill and Ben were going to see "The Manchurian Candiate" while Patty & I were going to watch "The Notebook". Our movie had 30 minutes before it was to start so Patty suggested that we walk down the sidewalk of the plaza to T.J. Maxx.

She recently got back into the work force and said that she needed to buy some professional looking tops. While we were browsing the racks, I found a few cute shirts and a dressy, short-sleeved sweater that I wanted to try on.

We headed to the dressing rooms. We both tried on our tops. I decided to keep the white tee that had light pink piping on the collar and sleeves. (It has a pink martini glass on the front and reads: Cosmopolitan Martini Lounge)

I also decided to keep the black short-sleeved sweater. It has a brighter color pink on the neckline as well as the sleeves (short sleeved) and has little cocktail drinks embroidered all over it.

We walk up to the checkout line. Patty is in line ahead of me and there are 2 more women in line ahead of her.

Let me start by saying, I don't write checks in stores anymore now that I have a checkcard. However, this day I thought, "Why not?" (Usually we're not located in Florida so my checks were always out of state therefore making it difficult for me to pay for purchases. So, I got a checkcard instead.)

Deciding to write a check was a huge gargantuan mistake.

Since there were 3 people ahead of me, I took the time to underline my driver's license number that is pre-printed on my check as well as write on the top of the check the D.L. expiration date and my date of birth.

When it was my turn to pay, I filled out the amount, memo, and signed it. I tore it out, handed it to the cashier along with my driver's license.

She pulls a pen out of the pocket on her smock and starts to copy down my driver's license number. I gently tell her, "Ma'am the number is already on my check." She proceeds to ignore me and says as she writes down the expiration date and my date of birth as well, "It has to be in my handwriting."

I take a deep breath. My heart begins to beat rapidly. This is NOT the first time that I've heard this bullcrap. I mean, who the hell is going to know whose handwriting it is as long as all my information is there for viewing?!?

She takes her sweet time and then, noticing that I have a P.O. Box on my check in the address line she says, "Do you have a physical address?"

"No," I reply. I explain, "My husband works for the government and we travel for his job. The P.O. Box is our permanent mailing address."

Then she shoves the check back to me stating, "We cannot accept checks with a P.O. Box on them. We need a physical address."

My heartbeat increases and my breathing quickens. I turn to Patty and saracastically say loud enough for the cashier to hear, "Gee that's funny. My P.O. Box is good enough for the D.M.V. It's good enough for the I.R.S. and it's good enough the credit reporting agencies, but I guess it's just not good enough for T.J. Maxx."

Patty cracked up. I ripped up the check, slipped it into my wallet and tossed my VISA at the cashier. I was seething mad. I also said to Patty, "Now I remember why I stopped writing checks!"

The cashier finishes the transaction and hands me my credit card and purchases. Patty and I walk out and I say, "Ya know what is so stupid? If I had told her that my physical address was 123 Main Street, etc. she would have accepted THAT even though there is NOTHING that I have to verify it or any other physical address for that matter. Yet, my P.O. Box address is clearly pre-printed on my checks (and apparently that's good enough for my credit union, too!) as well as my driver's license where it CAN be verified!"

"It's bullsh*t! I swear, I will NEVER write another check at a store again!!"

Patty agreed with me and laughed.

So to those of you who have a P.O. Box address on your checks as well as your driver's license-- the next time someone asks YOU for a 'physical address' just make one up and see what happens. If they accept your check then you will know how completely screwed up the system really is!!

For me, it's plastic all the way!

Thought Of The Day: "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." --Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey