today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-01-30 - 06:55am

My sister is THEEEEE best!!! I absolutely love to read her diary entries. Especially when they crack me up. Her most recent entry is a prime example of her keen wit. Of course, it might just be funny to me and to my mom since we all know the truth to Marty's cooking.

But she is so right on the money. Marty was not creative with her lunch time menus. And especially her idea of lunch after church. I remember the grilled cheese sandwiches served with tomato soup. And, like Karyl, I do not like tomato soup. I also remember a very disgusting concoction of tuna fish served on toasted bread with a slice of melted American cheese on top. {pausing to make a gagging noise}

Karyl likes Marty's lasagna, but I don't. You see, it's not that she makes a bad lasagna... but rather she served it over and over and over and over during my freshman year of highschool. I got so sick of eating lasagna that I recall writing a poem about it for English class. Too bad I don't have a copy of the poem here with me.

Another flaw in Marty's cooking lies in the fact that she will re-heat a dish until it is nearly unrecognizable. I'm serious! When Ben and I visited at Christmas, there was a leftover bowl of green beans she pulled out of the fridge and warmed up each and every night of our visit! And keep in mind these were already leftovers before we got there.

She's also notorious for buying Mrs. Smith's frozen pies and then burning them in the oven. I used to think that perhaps she burnt them because the oven was old and maybe the temperature was off, but I soon discovered at Christmas this last year that she simply forgets about the pie in the oven and that is why it is always burnt.

Before I spend this entire entry insulting Marty's cooking, I do have to give her a "pat on the back" for her Creme De Menthe pie. OOOoooOOO....that is simply divine. It's made primarily with Cool Whip and creme de menthe liqueur and mint ice-cream. Yum!!! It's like having heaven on earth and not having to die to experience it!!! I once asked her for the recipe, but she had lost it. (Big surprise there. I was so shocked) <----mock sarcasm

**********

You must read Karyl's diary to fully appreciate my entry today.

Arthur. Poor, poor Arthur. She really should put up a photo of this poor stuffed animal. His colour has all but worn off and she's not exaggerating about him not having a neck. His little face practically touches his hind feet when you pick him up. He has definitely seen better days!

I think it's neat how she's had him for most of her life, though. It's like my brother's "Blue Bear". That, too was given to him by Pam. It's a stuffed teddy bear. It was powder blue when she gave it to him 12 years ago. Now, the poor thing is a dingy shade of bluish-grey and most of his "skin" has been loved off.

Reminds me of a few stuffed animals/toys that I've had for most of my life. The first one that comes to mind is a small Ernie doll. (Ernie from Sesame Street) He's one of those that have the pull string on the back and wouldn't you know, after 20+ years that it still works? Sure, he sounds like he's on Valium and trapped in a slow-motion frame of a movie, but it works! Apparently, though when I was 5 years old Ernie's arm had ripped from the seam. Being the creative and inventive child that I was, I grabbed a Kleenex and a rubberband (the kind that goes in your hair; not on a newspaper) and "bandaged" him up. The bandage is still on his arm to this day. :-)

It's always neat to recollect childhood memories such as these. It amazes me how many good things a person will remember and how the not-so-good things seem to all but fade away after time. ;-)

Thought Of The Day:"Some memories are realities, and are better than anything that can ever happen to one again."--Willa Cather

Thought Of The Day #2:"We do not know the true value of our moments until they have undergone the test of memory."--Georges Duhamel

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!

**********

ps- to all my loyal readers, i DID spend an entire hour yesterday exercising and felt so much better! :-)









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey