today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2003-07-30 - 6:39 a.m.

I really wasn't being mean. You had to be there. I was trying to be helpful and caring.

For those of you who know, I have a cat named Trip. He's my "baby". And yes, he's spoiled rotten as far as I'm concerned.

When we first adopted Trip, he was a stray cat roaming the RV campground that we were staying at in Troy, Alabama. He was small and thin and looked like he needed to eat. So, of course being the sap that I am I immediately went to the store and bought some cans of cat food. I feed him outside on the ground right by the RV. For a week this continued until right before we were due to leave the campground, the owner of the RV park mentioned that Trip had been abandoned and needed a home. (Just for clarification, we named him Trip..he did not have a name previously.)

It took Ben and I oh, about 30 seconds to decide to keep him. I couldn't resist his big, green eyes and sad disposition.

Since we found him as an outdoor cat, we thought it'd be very unfair to turn him into a strictly indoor cat. So, in the beginning we let him out when he wanted and he came in when he wanted. He was free to roam.

Until he didn't come home one day.

We were in OKC and were due to leave the next morning to head to our next city. Trip usually came home around 6 am but this morning he was no where to be found. We searched hi and low. By 10 pm, still no Trip.

We had to "call in sick" so that we could buy more time from Ben's job to stay and look for Trip. Lo and behold that evening, our neighbors almost ran over him with their truck. They knew that we had been frantically looking for him and they returned Trip to us. From that point forth, he's been in a harnass and on a runner line when he wants to go outside.

Fast forward to 2 nights ago. He was on his runner line while Ben and I were cleaning up the kitchen after dinner. The next thing we know we hear THAT sound... you know the one.... the distinct sound of two cats duking it out.

Ben and I raced outside. The other cat was scared off and Trip was still fluffed up. His tail was as thick as that of a racoon's! I brought him in to inspect his wounds.

Usually he walks away unharmed, but this time he had some injuries. He received a cut on his nose, a cut on his front paw and another on a back paw. Ben held him while I took a Q-tip and some peroxide and cleaned his wounds. After, I decided to LIGHTLY put a bandaid on his front paw just to keep him from getting blood everywhere... specifically on our bedspread.

This seemed like a good idea and he looked so cute that I took a picture. Well, have you ever put tape or something similiar on a cat's paw?!? Well then you know exactly what happened next. He shook and he shook and shook to try to get the bandaid off. His little paw was moving as fast as a hummingbird at a feeder! I felt badly for him so I removed the bandaid and let him on his way.

Here are the photos:

You have to admit that he looks cute, don't you?!?

Next time I'm just gonna let him do his own kitty nursing!

Thought Of The Day:"Cats regard people as warm-blooded furniture."--Jacquelyn Mitchard, "The Deep End of The Ocean"

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey