today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-09-30 - 2:01 p.m.

Ok. I have to first start by saying that this entry is probably going to make a lot of people mad. However, I want to clarify something before I start. I am not writing this to attack anyone or to make anyone feel bad. I am not pointing this to anyone in particular. These are my thoughts, my viewpoints and my feelings.

Having said that, shall I begin??

I do not understand some things about breastfeeding. First, I don't understand how women become so attached to it. What I mean is that there are several people that I've heard and seen speak about how they will wean their baby when *they* (the mom) is ready. On one hand, I agree with that point. On the other, I don't agree when "I am ready" is a)at an inappropriate age for the child and b)when the child's health is compromised.

I don't understand this concept because I believe that I'd have better things to do with my time AND my child than just let him/her suck on my tit. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for breastfeeding. My sister intends to breastfeed her baby (as soon as she can coax the little brat outta her uterus! ha ha) and so do I when I have my child(ren). I think that breastfeeding is natural and healthy and economical. There are a wide range of benefits to breastfeeding your baby. There are women, however, who actually cannot breastfeed and I understand that as well.

I encourage the idea of a mother breastfeeding her infant. However, when the child either 1)develops T E E T H or 2)when the breastmilk is no longer of nutritional value to the baby, then it's time to quit!

I am not looking forward to feeling the brand-new, razor-sharp edge of my child's tooth bearing down on my senstive mammaries! Babies do not have a concept of pain therefore they are likely to inflict quite a bit of it if they bite!

I don't understand when women just go on and on and on and on and on with the breastfeeding. I feel that if my baby has teeth then s/he is ready to start real foods. And not only that, but if that baby can WALK around then for certain it's time to take the tit away. I get that you can't put an age on when you should stop breastfeeding (ie; you can't say definitively that a mother should stop when the baby is 8 months old) but you'd think that she would rather not have to sit there for X amount of time while the kid is having it's liquid meals.

And YES there is an age where it is DEFINITELY too old to breastfeed. Most certainly after age 2, that is the limit!! I mean, c'mon. If the kid can talk, walk and eats regular food then there is no good reason to keep giving him/her the boob! Logical thinking people have GOT to see this. I'm reminded of a clip I saw on Good Morning America a year or so ago where a woman was still "breastfeeding" her son at age 7!!!! I find that to be just ridiculous as well as creepy at the same time.

Just to reiterate... I am not posting this entry to bash anyone at all. I just want to put MY thoughts down and share MY opinion. There have been a lot pregnancies surrounding my life which caused me to think about this subject.

So, if you disagree with my way of thinking then that's perfectly fine. I don't mind. I just don't want someone to think that I am here to persecute them. I am merely stating my opinion.

Thought Of The Day: "The thing that impresses me most about America is the way that parents obey their children." --King Edward VIII (1894 - 1972)

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey