today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-06-02 - 7:03 a.m.

Thought you guys would love a good laugh at my prom photo(s).

So, here ya go....

seniorProm92

~and~

Cheleprom92b

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!




2007-05-31 - 1:41 p.m.

Thanks to Poola The Pie-Rat for letting me rip off borrow her idea for today's entry....

Senior Prom. What a disappointment for me. I have always been a person who LOVES to get dressed up and go to a party or a dance. Any ole excuse will do. So, when my senior prom came about, I was giddy with excitement.

The giddiness and excitement was very short-lived, however.

First, my mom (biological and not step-mom just to clarify for those of you read my diary ~and~ Bluesleepy's) didn't have the kind of money to go out an buy a dress for me. [This was the year I left my dad & stepmom's to live with my mom and in the process left my little sister feeling as though I had left her, too. Sorry, Sis!]

Anywho, so Momma and I headed to the local fabric shop to look at patterns and, of course, fabric. After a few hours of browsing, I finally decided on a strapless (big mistake!), knee-length dress done in black lace and purple satin. Now, while my mom isn't many things, she most certainly IS gifted with a sewing machine. For a mere $50 she sewed a gorgeous (for the 90s) dress that I was going to wear on prom night. I already had black 4" pumps so all I needed was a strapless bra and some lacy gloves.

Oh, and a date wouldn't have hurt.

Six weeks before prom night, most girls had their dates. I waited. And I waited. And I waited for SOMEONE to ask me. In fact, if the janitor had asked me at that point, I'd probably have accepted! Finally, I decided to take matters into my own hands and tried being the askER instead of waiting to be the askEE.

Three boys and three turn-downs later, my ego was bruised to say the least. Then suddenly, I met this ruffian named Nick. He came into the Subway where I worked and began to flirt with me. We hung out a few times and I asked him to go with me. He accepted and I assured him that all he had to do was show up in a suit and I'd take care of the rest.

(Can you smell the desperation here??)

My big, red flag should have been when he told me that he was a 9th grade drop-out and never got his G.E.D. This should have been a clear indication of the type of person I was dealing with. But, what did I know? I was 17 and wanted so badly to go to my senior prom.

Prom night arrives and I'm gussied up to the nines: Big, Aqua-net sprayed laquered hair and all.
5 o'clock comes and goes.
6 o'clock comes and goes.
7 o'clock comes and goes.

So much for going to dinner before the dance.

Finally at 8pm, my mom offers to take me. I had been stood up!

I figured that she had spent time & money making my dress and I had already purchased the tickets the least I could do was show up!

When I got to Chrysler Hall, I was so embarrassed! Here were my fellow students arriving in limos and sports cars (which they drove THEMSELVES) and here I was with my mom dropping me off in a white, 1974 Mercury Comet of all things!

It got worse. Way worse.

When I entered the building I followed the signs to the banquet room where our prom was being held. I waltz in the room only to discover within a matter of minutes that I was THE ONLY ONE THERE WITHOUT A DATE.

And when I say, ONLY ONE, I mean ONLY ONE. Even the so-called-nerds and so-called-geeks and the totally unpopular kids each had a date. I was so devastated that I ran as quickly as I could (in 4" heels) to the nearest bathroom and balled my eyes out. A few minutes later, I gathered myself together long enough to call my mom. She hurried over and asked me if I at least wanted to go to the after prom party at the local bowling alley. Again, I had prepaid for the tickets and thought: Why not?

She drove me there but as soon as we both walked in, we discovered that the pizza and shoe rental was an additional fee. Oh, and if I was going to bowl more than one game, I'd have to pay for those separately as well.

I just couldn't believe how my night was going from bad to worse. Finally, Momma takes one look at my tear-stained face and says: "You're coming with me."

And off we went to the after-hours bar where she DJ-ed at the time.

(She had been friends with the owner for most of my life so he was fine with me being there despite being underage.)

So when people ask me about my senior prom, I reluctantly tell them that I spent it at an after-hours bar with my mom.

Is that pathetic or what?

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey