today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-03-03 - 9:56 a.m.

Yesterday, I got extremely lucky. When I say extremely, I mean to the n-th degree.

You see, at the beginning of the year Ben bought a spiral calendar for us to keep track of which bills were due on which dates. In this calendar, we write down the bill name on the date it�s due as well as the amount that is due or that we�ve paid.
Once a bill is paid, we highlight it in green and enter the information into the checkbook. We also write down the online confirmation number underneath all the other pertinent information. This too goes into the checkbook�(which is really just an Excel spreadsheet.)

As I was paying each bill yesterday, I felt confident that I was doing a good job of keeping track. While on each company�s website, I took the time to thoroughly go through my transaction histories, etc. to verify that everything on the account was up-to-date and legit. I came across our Discover card bill and noticed that recently the balance on the card was not diminishing as quickly as it should be. Considering that we don�t use that card for purchases (it was used for a balance transfer). Upon further investigation, I learned that they were charging me a ridiculous 22.99% for my APR. Instantly, I was outraged especially because when we signed up for the balance transfer, we were on a program that gave us 1.9% APR for the life of the loan.

As it turned out, after calling the company, we were in default of making one purchase per month in order to retain the low APR. However, I indicated to the representative that we had signed up for the Wallet Protection Plan for $2.99 per month and as it was explained to us at the time, this would be an automatic billing that would count for the once monthly purchase required.

Long story short, the rep had to write up a proposal to reverse the APR and subsequently return the finance charges to my account. In the meantime, I get to play the hurry-up-and-wait game.

But this is not why I was extremely lucky yesterday. No siree, Bob!

During the many phone calls that I had to make yesterday, I received THREE automated calls from a company saying that my account was past due.

WTF?

No way! We ALWAYS pay our bills on time. What the hell, Eric?

I called the company directly to establish the cause for the overdue payment. While speaking to the rep, I found my error. And what a wallop upside the head that was! You see, I have a credit card from CitiBank (who goes by Citi now) and a card with Chase. When I looked at my calendar of bills, I realized that I paid the Chase card in January and February but neglected to pay the Citi card. I simply got confused. (like that�s hard to do.) You see, the last four digits of each are very similar. Let�s say that the Citi bank credit card ends in 5689 and the Chase card ends in 6398. While these numbers aren�t quite close, they were in my mind. (the real numbers really are closer to each other) So, I thought I had paid each one where obviously, I only paid the one card. I explained this humbly and honestly to the rep and mentioned my concern at how this late payment would negatively affect my APR.

Again, I don�t use this card for purchases--- it was used when we first bought the house to help us with the down payment, etc. My APR is supposed to be 6.99% and the rep said that the computer already defaulted the APR to the 29.99% rate when the payment was missed/overdue.

I panicked!

She explained that she couldn�t reinstate the APR but would connect me with her supervisor who might be able to help me.

When the supervisor came on the line, again I pleaded my case and told her honestly it was a goof up. I also explained that I was willing, able and ready to make the FULL payment right there on the spot. She looked at my account history and without hesitation says, "Okay, Michele� I�ve waived the late charge of $39, I�ve reinstated your 6.99% and I�ve noted on the account that you�re making the payment today." (which, I did right while she was on the phone with me; I paid through their website)

I was flabbergasted! I wasn�t expecting to have the late fee waived and I wasn�t sure she would reinstate my APR either. I thanked her profusely and she said, "You�re very welcome. I saw on your account that it�s been in good standing otherwise and you�re a very good customer so I had no problem taking care of that for you."

I think it was at that moment that I started to breathe again. ;-)

Isn�t it wonderful that there are people out there who realize that from time to time as humans we make mistakes? I truly fear the day when this type of business transaction becomes completely automated.

Yikes!!!

Until next time�peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey