today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-11-04 - 07:25am

In light of the upcoming election, I feel I must rant and rave about something that bothers me...

I have caught a lot of flack from some individuals for not voting. I am not registered to vote, nor will I. My position is this: I don't feel like voting for someone who I feel best represents what I'd like to see happen in the government, only to find out that once he's elected it was all a bunch of bull to get his foot in the White House. In other words, politicians LIE. I don't care how honest they are, they all LIE. Point blank. I hate lying, so why would I vote for somone who is just going to disappoint me by lying?

I get really tired of people nagging me about this too. For instance when someone asks me if I'm going to vote and I reply with no and I give them my reason why, they say "Oh, but it's your American privledge."

Well, DUH!

But just because something is your privledge doesn't make it your obligation. There is a difference. Besides, it's not as if I haven't served my country in one form or fashion. Yes, boys and girls (for those of you who don't know) I was in the US NAVY. For nearly four years. I feel that constitutes my "serving my counrty" and therefore negates me having to vote.

What is worse than catching flack for not voting is having someone ask me if I'm going to vote, I reply, then later they harass me to try to change my mind. I haven't voted in 7 years. Legal age to vote is 18. I'll be 26 on my next birthday. Arrrrgggghhhh that irates me! (<--sp?)

I am glad that Ben doesn't give me a hard time. He teases me, but lightly. And I tease him right back. He's doing an absentee ballot that he had to overnight and pay $18.75 for the postage. I teased him that voting should be free and if the guy he voted for doesn't get elected, then he should write him a letter and demand his $18.75 back! :-)

I do want to make one addedum to my "policy"... that is, if Jesse Ventura ever runs for President, that will be the ONE and ONLY time I will vote. He has to this day been really and truly and completely honest about everything. In fact, he's been so brutally honest that some people don't like him. They don't like him because he's not politically correct. That is exactly why I like him. We need someone like Jesse Ventura to shake things up. Put some flair in the big White House. :-)

For those of you who do vote, I have nothing against you. Just don't hold it against me that I don't.

Thought Of The Day:"As scarce as truth is, the supply has always been in excess of the demand."--Josh Billings

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!

ps- My name is spelled: M I C H E L E :-) (you know who you are!) :-)









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey