today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-09-05 - 08:20am

Ben pointed something out to me as we were driving back from Floriday yesterday; we don't typically have "normal" weekends. He was definitely referring to this weekend that just passed!

He took leave on Thursday so we could drive from Charlotte, NC to Trenton, FL. The trip started out well... we left early in the morning and got there around dinner time that evening. Friday morning, we get up and drive to our storage unit. Our purpose for the entire weekend was to clean out storage and have a "garage sale".

We finally got to the storage unit around 10am. I thought that it was going to be a long, boring project, but it turned out to be fun! I got to see a lot of things that I had forgotten that I even had owned and a lot more things where I was asking myself, "Why in the HELL did I save that?!?" Hee hee....

We sorted and boxed and organized all the items we wanted to sell. And we figured out which stuff was worthy of keeping. I have a wooden chest that literally looks like a treasure chest from times of the pirates. I decided to make it a "Memory Chest" and put various items such as my baby book, a newspaper from the day I was born, all my Madonna memorabilia, etc in there. It's full to the brim. I can barely get the lid to close!

We borrowed Ben's dad's flatbed trailer to load all our things onto. We finally get done and out of there around 6pm... tired and a bit sore. We drive the 40 minutes back to Ben's dad's place. There, it begins to rain. Fortunately, his dad has a LARGE piece of thick plastic tarp so covers it completely to protect our belongings.

After dinner and a shower, we collapse onto our air mattress. We're awakened about 4am-ish by the all to familiar sound of pelting rain on a moblie home roof. (If you've ever lived in a mobile home or an RV, you know exactly what I am talking about) I roll over and say to Ben in the dark, "I hope it doesn't rain all day!" He agrees with me. At 5 we trudge out of bed.

We're standing in the dining room talking to his stepmom and his dad when all of a sudden, BOOM! A huge thunderclap hits the sky and all the lights go out. It was so completely black that I could NOT see Ben who was staning only 2 feet away! (His family lives in the woods)

Well, much to our dismay, it rains. And rains. And rains. And rains some more. We're really mad because we know that Ben is supposed to dedicate Sunday to fixing the A/C in our truck so we can leave early on Monday to head back to N.C.

No such luck. We go to see "The Kid" with his brother Ray's family and make the best of the day.

Sunday, we get up and it's beginning to sprinkle. We know we either need to try to have the sale or put everything back into our storage unit. We definitely did not want to do that! So, we drive into "town" and park in the Publix parking lot. Ben is furious at this point and trying not to take his frustration out on me because of the weather. I suggest we wait it out an hour and see what happens. We do. It begins to clear. We start to lay stuff out. His brother Ray and 3 of his kids are there to help.

We get everything neatly arranged when a huge black sky looms above. It's threatening to dump buckets of rain on us. But somehow, the front moves quickly to our right and it goes completely AROUND us. This happened twice that day! It ended up staying dry, we sold 95% of our things, and it was a longggggg day. We both were exhausted, hungry and sunburnt by the days' end. (which, proves that if you don't think you can get a sunburn when it's overcast and cloudy, think again! I did know better but had just forgotten the sunscreen!)

We finally get back to his parent's house about 7:30 that evening. They had rented Erin Brockovich, so we plopped down on the couch and watched it with them.

Ben wakes up bright and early Monday morning, hoping to fix the A/C on the truck. His dad and brother, Ray help him. They determine by lunch that the compressor is shot. So, Ray drives me to AutoZone where I buy one for $150. Yeah, I know! Anyway, thinking that would solve the problem I feel relieved. Now, keep in mind that we have a 9 or 10 hour drive back to N.C. and that Ben has to work on Tuesday. (today)

Well, they finally get the new compressor in and finish the job. The A/C works! Hooray! Of course, it is now 4pm. We still had a few items from the sale that needed to go back to storage. Storage closes at 5:15. So, Ben grabs a quick shower, changes, we load the truck with our bags and Trip and head for storage. Afterwards, we stop at Schlotzky's Deli for some dinner and get on the road. Not even TWENTY MINUTES pass when the truck makes a loud and strange noise and the A/C goes out. (Did I mention that prior to the $150, Ben spent $90 on other parts???) He is really pissed off. He calls his Dad for a suggestion, but it doesn't work. So, here we are driving back to N.C. in super hot and humid and muggy weather with no air conditioning. It was the LONGEST trip I've taken in quite some time. Especially because we got tired and practically was falling asleep trying to drive.

We actually made it in safe and sound at 3:30 this morning. We unloaded the truck, put Trip inside, washed our faces, brushed our teeth and went straight to bed for 2 and a half hours. Ben woke up at 6:30 to go to work. I got up nearer to 7 and packed his lunch.

So, with 5 loads of laundry to do, unpacking to accomplish and being super tired, I give you this rambling entry! Enjoy!!!

Thought Of The Day: "He conquers who endures."--Persius

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!

did i mention sanity???









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey