today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-09-06 - 08:15am

Ok, I'm going to remain calm and spend the next few minutes trying to retype this awesome entry I had just about finished when POOF! up into cyberspace it went...

I'm sitting here waiting for divine inspiration to hit me to create an amusing and interesting diary entry.

Still waiting.

Yawn.

Ok, so, I guess I'm left to my own devices today.

GROWWWWWWWLLLL!!!

That's the sound of my stomach longing for a hot, fresh bagel. (if I didn't have to retype this damned entry, i coulda been out the door already and at the bagel shop!)

Speaking of bagels, there's nothing better than a fresh, hot, chewy bagel first thing in the morning. Ok, so there is, but this entry is about bagels.

There's a bagel shop only 4 miles from the RV park where we're staying and I love to go first thing in the morning and get fresh bagels. The only trouble is deciding which flavours I want.

Since I'm only buying for 2 people, it's better to only purchase 1/2 a dozen at time. If you buy a full dozen (which is less expensive, of course) by the time you get to bagel #7, it's so hard that it could pass as a regulation hockey puck!!!

And, forget about freezing them. Though, my stepmom hasn't quite gotten over this amazing concept. I'm afraid to eat anything that comes out of her freezer. If you've never seen it, it's like a deep black hole. There are probably items in there that she bought when I still lived at home over 9 years ago!!! :-)

If you do try to freeze bagels, when you toast them after being defrosted, they've lost all their amazing flavour. Besides that, they usually are rubbery and tough to chew. YUCK!

Freezing fresh bagels is just plain sacrilege!!!

Save all the bagels from freezerburn... don't allow bagels to slip into the cold, dark void of your freezer! Keep them in the original brown bag they give them to you in at the bagel shop and then when you get home, put that bag in a large gallon-sized ziploc bag! Trust me. You'll thank me later.

Thought Of The Day:"Public and private food in America has become eatable, here and there extremely good. Only the fried potatoes go unchanged, as deadly as before."--Luigi Barzini, O America, 1977

Thought Of The Day #2:"Our lives are not in the lap of the gods, but in the lap of our cooks."--Lin Yutang, The Importance of Living, 1937

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey