today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2002-06-06 - 8:39 a.m.

This is only one of two entries I hope to write today, but I was disturbed by something I saw on Good Morning America just now.

They had a panel of experts testing out various swimming devices used to aid small children while in a swimming pool.

They did immersion tests, puncture tests and they even had real children don the devices to see if they were comfortable and "user friendly".

Here's my problem.

I think that those "Swimmies" and "floaties" and the various life preservers (when used while learning to swim) give children a false sense of security. I firmly believe that children should learn the proper way to swim at a very early age. I even like the programs that teach infants how to survive in the water.

Every time I go to the beach or to a public pool, I cringe when I see a toddler running around with those hideous orange plastic "Swimmies" on their arms. I just want to go over to the mom or dad and smack some reality into their lives.

When I was 6 and my sister was TWO, my dad enrolled us both in the Red Cross Swimming School at the local J.C.C. (Jewish Community Center) It was one of the best things my dad ever did for us. Karyl, well she's just a natural in the water. I've told her for years that she's related to the fish species. Of course, it doesn't hurt that she was born under the astrological sign of Pisces! Suits her well! She's always taken to the water with grace and ease.

I know that when I have children, I will definitely enroll them in a Red Cross Certified Swimming school! Water safety is paramount when you have small children. I think all people should be made to obtain Swimming Licenses----just as we need a license to operate a motor vehicle or to get married, so should we have one to ensure that we all know how to swim!

Thought Of The Day:"Out of this nettle-- danger, we pluck this flower--safety." --William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616)

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey