today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-05-08 - 11:44 a.m.

OH MY GAWD!
OH MY GAWD!
OH MY FREAKIN' GAWD!!!

I CAN RUN MY A/C AND WATER HEATER ALL AT THE SAME TIME!!!

The wonders of having an electrically-superior husband are amazingly vast!

You see, from the time we first bought this RV back in '99, we have had a problem with the electricity. The RV was originally intended only to pull 30amps. And ours wasn't built with full time occupancy in mind. (Back in 1993, not as many people *lived* in their RVs as they do currently.)

We quickly discovered that in order to run the coffee pot, the a/c had to be shut off. Of course, during winter months this isn't a problem. If I wanted to make a meal in the toaster oven, then no other major appliance could be running at the same time. And forget trying to run the toaster oven and the coffee pot simultaneously!

If that weren't enough, a lot of times our power would simply spike and everything would shut down. This is mostly a result of the campground itself having very old power boxes. Of course, my savvy husband installed a Monster Power do-hicky-thing-a-ma-jig last year. However, it can't prevent the power from going out. And believe me, nothing is worse than being in the middle of a diary entry when...
.
.
.
.
.
.
just kidding, you guys! Ok, where was I? Oh, yeah...so there are times that the power randomly shuts off but mostly it's a direct result of pulling more than the 30amps that this RV is capable of handling.

My genius and talented hubby has been working (steadily in his off-time) to convert the RV from 30 to 50amps. He finally completed the tast last night.

He informed me this morning that I no longer had to turn things off when the a/c was running. Harumph. Oh, really! Well, let me just test your little theory, shall I?

I bravely took a shower without shutting off the breaker for the hot water heater while leaving the a/c running. VOILA! The power remained on, my shower was hot, and the RV stayed cool.

Then I got brave. Do I dare run my blowdryer right after taking a shower (indicating that the hot water heater would need to kick on) *AND* still leave the a/c running?

Yes, I like to live on the edge of danger, Folks. Ha, ha.

Sure enough! I could run all of it AT. THE. SAME. TIME!!! I am in electricity heaven over here! Just call me High Voltage!

Ah, it's the simple things in life that amuse me...........









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey